Archinect
anchor

Seeking Advice on Highlighting Revit Skills and Job Search Strategies

Hey everyone,

I recently completed my Master’s program and am currently seeking job opportunities in the US market. With nearly 3 years of experience in India, including internships and full-time work, I have extensive experience with Rhino, AutoCAD, and SketchUp for drafting and modeling.

I recently had an interview, but I was not hired due to my lack of professional experience with Revit. I understand that Revit is now a key industry standard. I’ve been actively learning Revit through YouTube tutorials and advice from colleagues, and I’m working to build my skills in this area.

What would be the best way to convey this? The Indian market did not use Revit and now it's dragging me down when I apply for jobs in the US. 

Would appreciate any tips or advice! Appreciate your help. 

Aug 23, 24 3:14 am
BulgarBlogger

Ok, so the problem here is not your lack of experience with knowing how to push a few buttons in the Revit interface, but how to use the tool effectively to do a few things:

1. Coordinate trades

2. Utilize powerful techniques within Revit to develop workflows that save time.

3. Construct BIM models that are actually constructable in American dimensions and technically feasible in the US.

4. Often times item 3 above is not entirely possible without having some sense of the American building codes and standards.