Archinect
anchor

MEP engineer detroit

elan_h

Can anyone recommend an mep engineer for permit drawings for a project in detroit? its not a big project - 2500 sf converting retail space into a creative studio.  can either be a small firm or independent engineer who does side work.  Thanks in advance

Aug 11, 24 1:45 pm

Call a few local architecture firms and ask for their opinion. 

FYI:  in most areas there is no such thing a 'permit set'.  Full construction drawings are needed to get a building permit.  From you short project description this could be a change in occupancy.  At the very least it's a change of use.  Don't expect a reduced fee for this type of work. 

Good luck. 

Aug 12, 24 2:10 pm  · 
 · 
elan_h

@chad miller, yes, i'm aware. i'm a licensed architect and have received approval for tons of projects. i just work mostly out of state so do not have a consultant network in the state. I have the architectural dwgs ready to go.  

My permit sets generally do not include fully fleshed out details such as millwork or interior details or full interior elevations and specs that my CDs include as they're not necessary for permit approval; hence differentiation between the permit set and CDs.  I already have the life safety and occupancy drawings for the change of use.  

It's a fairly straightforward TI project so I would expect a smaller fee than a larger project.  That's usually how it's been received in previous proposals I've received for similar scope  projects 

Aug 12, 24 4:46 pm  · 
 · 

Thanks for clarifying. I wasn't certain of your experience and didn't want you to have unreasonable expectations. In the states that I work in (MN, ND, SD, WI, CO, UT) most AHJ don't have 'permit sets' They require singed CD's for building permits. I'm glad this project will have a different permit process.

Aug 12, 24 5:12 pm  · 
 · 
przemula