Archinect
anchor

Software selection

gibson

I am an architect who worked in technology (UX) for 15 years, and moving back to private residential architecture practice.  I started on Autocad, I know the software as evolved, but I can still jump back in and use it fine.

I'll describe what I am looking for and see what thoughts everyone has.  I am working on smaller residential projects, additions and new homes.  I want a solution where I can:

- Parametric model a design and then cut sections & plans. I want one source of truth which updates when I move a door or window

- This model is intelligent (BIM), for an exterior wall I can specify the construction, 2'x6" with open cell spray foam insulation etc..

- The model can create renderings, they do not need to be picture perfect, but high quality enough to present to clients to visualize ideas

- It needs to be able to create construction documents for permitting

My short list is:

- Autocad, maybe Revit?  But it seems like overkill, and expensive for a one man shop

- Sketchup

- Vectorworks

- Archicad

I am hoping for a one software solution I can use through the lifecycle of the process.  The simpler and easier the package is the better, the issue i have with Autocad is I probably use 10% of what the software can do, but I am familiar with it and used it for a number of years.

Insights and recommendations are appreciated.  Thanks

Aug 9, 24 7:30 am
b3tadine[sutures]

Archicad is your go to then, smaller residential firms like it for the cost, ease of use, and the fact that it’s available for Mac OS.

Aug 9, 24 8:04 am  · 
2  · 
proto

i beg to differ on cost -- not cheap at all. i have a lot to say on this topic since i switched from acad lt to archicad 3yrs ago...i'll come back to it this weekend maybe with a more complete comment

for cost? go acad lt & rhino & just deal with the issues -- or, if you like the output better, go vector works for "BIM-light", still not cheap tho