Archinect
anchor

Gridline Labelling Standards

jackarcher101
What is the standard for labelling gridlines? Should they be on the top or bottom of the sheet and left or right?

Jun 19, 24 11:14 pm
archanonymous

The only rule is consistency.

Jun 20, 24 1:35 am  · 
8  · 
b3tadine[sutures]

Top and Right

Jun 20, 24 5:27 am  · 
 · 
Bench

Interesting - is the rational that you flip sheets in the direction of a book, therefore you would see the gridline bubble first on the right as you turn the page?

Jun 20, 24 9:42 am  · 
1  · 
Wood Guy

A related question, since I'm largely self-taught, do only residential design and have only seen or used gridlines a few times, but I can see them being helpful on my more complicated projects: where do you put them? Face of framing, center of framing, something else? Is there a rule for which direction gridlines get numbers vs. letters? Any other tips? 

Jun 20, 24 9:57 am  · 
1  · 
Non Sequitur

It depends. I use them mainly for inside (or out, depends) of foundation wall then c/l of beams on the simpler houses. All my high end stuff is full steel frame so in that case, all grids are to c/l of column.

Jun 20, 24 10:01 am  · 
2  · 
Wood Guy

Outside of foundation makes sense to me; I typically align face of framing with face of foundation.

Jun 20, 24 10:37 am  · 
2  · 
Almosthip

We always let our structural consultants set the gridlines. They always do outside of foundation and center of columns / piers

Jun 20, 24 10:46 am  · 
2  · 

We too have our structural engineer set the gridlines.

We put bubbles on each side of the gridlines.  

Jun 20, 24 10:50 am  · 
1  · 
Wood Guy

I have usually done my own structural engineering, though I'm working with PEs more often these days, none have used gridlines, aside from one several years ago.

Jun 20, 24 11:08 am  · 
 · 
Non Sequitur