Archinect
anchor

How much should I charge?

Sora

Can anyone help me figure this out?  I got a referral to do a ADU drawing and permit.  The project is in LA area and it is a attached ADU unit that is already built but the owner wants to get a permit for it.  The original architect who worked on this project has health issues so he cannot finish working on this project.  However, this project has already went thought first round of plan check and has most of the required forms etc.  

Should I take this project and if so, how much should I charge?  I am an licensed architect with about 10 years of experience.

Jun 17, 24 10:59 am
graphemic

I feel like you maybe shouldn't have a license if you're not sure whether to take this on or not. 

Jun 17, 24 12:44 pm  · 
 · 
Non Sequitur

health reasons?  bulshit.... they are running away because the owner likely went all cowboy and did whatever they wanted.  It's just that they got caught and are looking for a poor sucker to bend the rules in their favour.  You need to run away.

Also, does not bode well for a license if you're not able to see the obvious here.

Jun 17, 24 2:20 pm  · 
Wood Guy

It sSounds like a lot of unknowns and potential for aggravation, or worse. If I were to take it on, it would be hourly, with a large, non-refundable deposit to cover the potential for nonpayment. But I'd steer away unless there is some other benefit for you. 

Jun 17, 24 2:26 pm  · 
3  · 

Well the basic one would be “what do you want to make an hour” then times by at least 3 to cover overhead, insurance, software, etc…

But also, you should talk to your attorney first before taking this on. If it came through my door, red flags would be popping.

Jun 18, 24 12:31 am  · 
2  · 
chris-chitect

I'm not 100% sure if I'm following but is this someone that illegally built a structure, the neighbors complained and the city has told them it needs to be proven (and adapted if necessary) as conforming?