Archinect
anchor

3Y exp Architect: Looking to apply to my dream firm

AspiringArchitect

hi,

I hope everyone is doing well. I've been working as an architect for three years now, and I have a conundrum I hope the ever-helpful community here can assist me with. I am planning to look for a new job and have come across some of my dream firms that are hiring. The issue is that within my three years of work experience, I have not worked on any projects that can be shown to these firms, as the type of projects I've done are completely different from what these firms focus on. For example, my work usually involved designing mid-range villas of about 400-600 sqm—nothing fancy. I am confused about whether I should showcase these works or add some conceptual/dummy projects to demonstrate the kind of projects these firms are more interested in. I would greatly appreciate your help.

tl;dr I want to apply to my dream firm but i don't have any relatable projects in my closet.

Jun 5, 24 7:31 am
Non Sequitur

400sm-600sm is not mid-range.  600sm in my area puts you in commercial building category FFS...

So you want to apply to a stArchitect sweat shop but all you have are generic McMansions and a few years work exp?  Tough sell, but best you can do is advertise your billable production skills and hope you fill a need in their operation.

Jun 5, 24 7:47 am  · 
 · 
AspiringArchitect

exactly completely mind numbing. but the bigger question is does the dummy project approach work?

Jun 5, 24 8:50 am  · 
 · 
Non Sequitur

Dummy projects are fine if they show something other than glossy imagery. Do they demonstrate specific creative problem solving? Interesting program massing? Technical acumen?

Jun 5, 24 9:35 am  · 
 · 
AspiringArchitect

Allright there seems like a small opportunity in that. I'll take it. Thank you non sequitur.

Jun 5, 24 11:59 pm  · 
 · 
monosierra