Archinect
anchor

NYC Licensed Architects - Advice Needed

93lt

Hi all, I am a licensed architect working for a big organization in NYC, my day to day work does not really involve architectural design and there will be no conflict of interests for me to take a side job.

I have never personally stamped drawings or done DoB permitting before. Recently an interior designer friend reached out and asked me to prepare a set of permit drawings and need to stamp them. It is a rather straightforward 3-bed condo unit renovation project on the UES, and it does not involve in any load bearing/structural alterations. However, i am contemplating whether or not to take it because of potential professional liability issues. It seems that i am able to obtain professional E&O insurance as a sole proprietor, but i am still concerned about getting sued by the Condo/GC/Client since i do not know any of them, and i don't know the risks if no MEP engineer stamps the drawings. My preferred route would be to establish a PLLC in NY state but that would take ~3 months.

Any advice is appreciated, thank you.

May 29, 24 10:14 pm

You can as well buy Professional Liability Insurance as a Sole Proprietor (takes a 2-3 weeks to sort it out), and once you have your legal formation fully settled, you can switch the insurance to your PLLC. There is an option to buy insurance retrospectively, backwards. Let's say you haven't bought an insurance on time, and you are buying it for an X amount of months backwards, paying "today" for the past period and it counts as if you bought it back in the day, on such and such day. I just talked to my insurance agent today, and was surprised to learn so. Indemnification Agreement is a great way to approach those situations - as long as the parties are willing to sign it. I had a situation where a party promised verbally to sign an IA but after they consulted their attorney they "changed" their mind. 

May 31, 24 7:48 pm  · 
1  · 
93lt