Archinect
anchor

sustainable architecture project

samchitect

Hello everyone,

I'm a student from an international school in the south of France, and I'm looking to connect with an architect who has experience in or is currently engaged in sustainable construction projects. For my final year of high school, I've chosen to study the impact of Frank Lloyd Wright’s concept of "organic architecture" on modern sustainable design principles in the United States.

While I know there's a lot of information available online, an important aspect of my project involves engaging with individuals who have hands-on experience. I'm not necessarily seeking an expert on Frank Lloyd Wright's life, but rather someone with real-world insights into sustainability within the field of architecture.

Unfortunately, I can't share my school email address publicly. If you're interested, please post your email in the responses, and I'll reach out to you. I have a brief list of questions that I'd love to discuss.

Looking forward to connecting with you,

Sam

Jan 25, 24 7:12 am
ivanmillya

Sustainability in practice is often very regional, due to the market availability of various materials, labor and skills associated with various kinds of work, code requirements and restrictions, etc. If the market in an area is abundant with local concrete production, and with tradespeople who are skilled at casting, you're going to see a lot more of it. Conversely, if you live in an area where that's not common, it's going to be a far more expensive and non-sustainable solution (factoring in those trades and materials having to travel further to the job site). This also applies very much to finishes and certain specialty work (like say... lime plasterwork as opposed to interior paint on gypsum board).