Archinect
anchor

Career Change - Community or Rural Development

Aldea

Is a change in career from architecture to community or rural development common?

Has anyone done it? What are the odds of employment? Should I pursue a Masters in a fancy university?

I've been practising for the last 7 years and just don't feel like this is the career for me. It probably doesn't help I mostly did construction supervision and although I have now gotten back into design, it doesn't feel like something I want to do. Even what the principal of our firm does, I wouldn't want to walk in their shoes.

Dec 27, 23 10:23 pm
MAL67

I’m not an architect (I’m on this site because my son wants to study architecture), but I’m commenting because I work in international humanitarian assistance, in fields closely related to community and rural development. 

Architects and the skill sets you can bring are absolutely relevant. I have worked with several architects in different countries in Africa and Latin America, to help communities, refugees and others to find design, housing and community solutions to the problem of forced displacement. Two examples I’ve personally worked on: In Zambia, one architect helped create new integrated communities (roads, schools, clinics, houses…) of local residents and former refugees. In Colombia, architects helped residents of informal slum areas to upgrade and legalize their neighborhoods, obtain property titles and create public spaces and services that benefitted the communities. 

Your skills as an architect are definitely applicable! 

For more information, search for “humanitarian shelter” - UNHCR (the UN refugee agency) and IFRC (international federation of the Red Cross) have information, as do others. 

Jan 6, 24 9:07 pm  · 
1  · 
Aldea

thanks so much for the reply. I looked up the UNHCR website but could not find anything for an architect or construction but what you've written was inspiring and eye opening

Jan 17, 24 1:33 pm  · 
 · 
MAL67