Archinect
anchor

Freelance - Business/Insurance Question

mrp90

Hello,

I am having a lot of trouble finding answers online to the following scenario:

I am a licensed architect who works for a large firm. I had a friend reach out to me about some freelance work for a small restaurant chain (I have experience). Do I need to start a sole proprietorship in order to obtain professional liability insurance?

Does anyone have advice if I should start a sole proprietorship before I stamp?

I'm overall a little confused. It seems like I do not need a business license or insurance to stamp. I for sure will get insurance but hoping to skip the business aspect if not needed!

Thank you!

Jul 28, 22 6:20 pm
bowling_ball

While the insurance is more important for your liability, you likely can't charge without a business number. Where I am, the fee is $60 and takes a day or three. Just do it. 

Jul 28, 22 6:33 pm  · 
 · 

First, by definition, you using your real and true name practicing independently means you are a sole-proprietorship. However, I say do NOT be a sole-proprietorship. Form an LLC, if possible where you are but other business entity types that provided limited liability provision. The other thing I would suggest (even more important than the business type) is the professional liability insurance like what bowling_ball said. If possible, I would recommend doing BOTH. Limited Liability provisions provides for some protection that insurance doesn't necessarily address but the insurance likewise protects you in areas of issues that limited liability provision does not cover. You should do BOTH. 

Examples of business types that provide limited liability provisions:

LLC, LLP, Corporations (S-corp and C-corp), and possibly a few others.