Archinect
anchor

Is an architecture degree worth it for urban design/planning?

aaron1

Hey y'all. This is a somewhat specific post but I'm hoping some people in the field may have some advice. I tried some relevant subreddits and got some good answers but I'm trying to get as many second opinions as possible.

I (22M) am about to complete my honours degree in urban design and sustainability. I'm very happy! However, I don't care so much about the policy side. I am very, very interested in design and designing urban spaces. I was going to originally pursue a degree in architecture but I wasn't really willing to sacrifice my work/life balance or wage as I heard a lot of very negative things about this profession. However, now that I have my "safe" degree, I was wondering if it would be smart to pursue an additional architecture undergraduate for 2 years to increase my chances of landing a design job while giving myself more options and opportunities. Is this a smart idea, or am I just kidding myself? Allow me to explain myself.

Ideally, doing this would a) give me a genuine reason to study architecture by making myself more attractive and qualified for urban design positions and b) open up future opportunities should any sustainable architectural positions come up and I qualify. I feel if I have an architectural degree, I am more qualified to design urban spaces. However, by doing this, am committing to another 2 years, 4 if I want an M.Arch to become a genuine architect. I don't know which option is better, but right now, I'm only considering the 2 years. I have to decide soon, as I don't really want to waste this opportunity while I'm young. However, is it just smarter to just start working? My only fear is this door closing if I do start working now, and I worry I won't want to return to school if I can land a long-term position.

TL;DR: does an architecture degree help at all in the urban design/planning field? I am considering getting an additional degree.