Archinect
anchor

Canadian New Graduate to US Employment - TN Visa

saqibm7575

Hello,

I'm an Canadian soon to graduate for Master of Architecture in Toronto, Ontario, and currently am working fulltime an as Intern Architect (I'm member of OAA, Ontario Association of Architects), I am thinking about moving to states for for employment in field of architecture when I graduate.

There are two questions I had, which i was hoping someone can help with. 

First, Internship hours

As I mentioned I am working as an Intern Architect, and I have already logged in 760 hours towards my internship (IAP). So, I was wondering if is it possible to transfers internship hours from one Architect Association to another, in this can from IAP to AXP. 

I tried contacting NCARB regarding this, but have not heard anything back, hence why i ask here.

Second, Moving to States with a TN Visa

After going through the list of requirements for the TN Visa, I was wondering if there any possible issues with the fact that as an new graduate, although I do quality as an Architect based on NAFTA's profession educational requirement for an Architect, however, I technically am not an Architect as I do not have my license as an Architect yet.

In this case, what would be my options?

I have already applied for some jobs in USA, and some of the firms are not licensed Architects sadly, even though they do architecture work.

So, if I were to get hired by one of licensed Architect Firm, GREAT! Would I need to present any additional documentation proving that I will be operating under an Licensed Architect? if so, what would be this additional document be and what would it need to contain in order for it to be considered as valid.