Archinect
anchor

Life of an Architect

tylerdinis

Hey everyone, my name is Tyler and I'm a Designer in CA. I graduated from Newschool of Architecture and Design in 2018 and have been working in a firm ever since.The firm is small with about 10 people total but that means I've been able to work on every phase of multiple projects and learned a lot in a short time. I'm not licensed yet, but I've taken 4/6 ARE 5.0 exams and have experience there too.

I recently decided to make a YouTube channel talking about what I do every day in the office to give students an idea of what to expect for life outside of school. Check it out and feel free to comment there and ask me any questions about specific tasks I do on projects, the path to licensure, or what you need to apply for a job. 

Day in the Life of an Architect | Ep.1 |

Jul 7, 21 1:13 pm
RJ87

At no point of the video did you respond to emails & get constantly interrupted by phone calls. Therefore I declare shenanigans.

Jul 7, 21 2:39 pm  · 
8  · 
RJ87

Also, brace for people giving you a hard time about making a video about the day in the life of an architect when you're not an architect. Best of luck on the last two exams, once you're done it's a big weight off your shoulders. Just keep hammering away at them.

Jul 7, 21 2:44 pm  · 
6  · 

First thing I thought when OP introduces themselves in the video is that someone would have a problem with them calling themselves an "architectural designer," as any derivative of "architect" is practically verboten before licensure.

Also, the "Life of an Architect" is kind of already taken (with quite a large audience/presence): https://www.lifeofanarchitect.com/

Jul 7, 21 2:54 pm  · 
5  · 
RJ87

It wasn't the architectural designer part that I thought would do it, it was the fact that from then on he referred to what architects do as "we".

I don't want to kill his enthusiasm though. At least he's actively 2/3rds the way through the exams working on licensure.