Archinect
anchor

NYS Licensure

Continuum

Hey folks. I heard from a colleague that you need three years of work experience in NYS to be licensed. But I can't find this requirement anywhere online. For example, in NJ I can clearly find information that says "three years of work experience."

If I have an NAAB accredited degree, completed lawful AXP hours from various places, and finished ARE exams, am I set for New York State license? Or does my work experience really have to be from NY?

Thank you for the clarification.

May 2, 20 3:01 pm
Bench

contact NCARB. If you have an active account it will have an automatic tracker for you.

May 2, 20 3:49 pm  · 
 · 
Formerlyunknown

No, the experience does not need to be from New York.  Yes, NY does require 3 full years of experience.  You find this information on New York's Office of the Professions website.

May 2, 20 5:00 pm  · 
1  · 
Continuum

Hey, I don't find this information anywhere on their website.. or, if I understood those "units" information correctly -

I need 12 points total.

NAAB accredited school = 9 units
1 year of experience = 1 unit
3 years of experience = 3 units

But it also says a Masters is equal to 1 unit, which means I only need 2 years of experience!? Does M. Arch II count?

1  · 
Formerlyunknown

Since you have an NAAB-accredited degree, you're in Category A.  

Per the site:  "For applicants in Category A, a total of at least eight years of education and experience is required in order to obtain 12 units of credit." 

Usually an M.Arch II (a post-professional M.Arch) is not considered a professional degree, because most post-professional degrees are not accredited, so typically you cannot get an extra 1 unit for that degree.  Usually you can only get that extra 1 unit if you actually have 2 NAAB-accredited degrees (for instance an accredited M.Arch on top of an accredited B.Arch) which is fairly unusual.