Archinect
anchor

age discrimination from potential clients?

small

I've been working in architecture for about 12 years and have been practicing on my own for the last 2 years. For better or worse, I look young (i.e. recent graduate) and in walkthroughs with potential clients I get the feeling that they don't want to work with me because I look so young even though I am qualified. Usually, they are older than me, and in fact, many have commented directly to my face "you look so young!". Afterwards, I end up never hearing from them again which makes me think they don't think I can get the job done because of how young I look.

I'm curious if any of you have faced a similar issue when starting your practice and how did you deal with it? 

I like to think I carry myself professionally and come prepared for interviews, but it's a bummer when potential clients can't see past the visuals...

Jan 7, 20 8:54 pm

1 Featured Comment

All 9 Comments

archi_dude

Omg. Is this really where our society is at?

Jan 7, 20 9:45 pm  · 
 · 
leonizer

I don't have my own practice, and I suppose it shouldn't be an issue if you have built up a decent portfolio.

But I also look young  partly due to the curse and blessing of my asian genetics. Once I had a site super call me a kid during a site meeting. I had to tell him, Ok boomer, don't ever call me a kid again. He immediately stop talking and I never had a issue with him again afterwards. 

Jan 8, 20 8:36 am  · 
 · 
SneakyPete

I hope you didn't literally say "OK, boomer." The world would be a much better place if caustic memes didn't pierce the veil into real life.

Jan 8, 20 12:24 pm  · 
 · 
SneakyPete

(Not a boomer)

Jan 8, 20 12:24 pm  · 
 · 
tduds

I've had a couple people try to pull "son" on me in meetings / site walks. I just start responding with "old man" and it usually shuts them up.

Jan 8, 20 12:38 pm  · 
 · 
Wood Guy