Archinect
anchor

Portfolio(s) proper length and projects kind

Peterci

Hi guys! I'm a bit struggling about the amount of pages of my portfolio. I graduated a couple of years ago but started my first internship in 2016  and working since then. 

I choose 11 projects and i'm thinking about doing two different portfolios, a long one (about 90 pages) and a short one using one or two spreads per project (i hope no more than 30 pages). My plan is to send the short portfolio via email and paste on the first page the issuu link of the long version, just in case... Am I doing the right thing? I will apply all over the world, mainly Milan, Singapore, HK, Canada and Australia.

Another thing:

do you think that's ok if I mainly put projects done in this period? i mean i worked in china where from the beginning i were the either the chief designer (and the guy doing the biggest amount of work) or at least the right hand of the director. Like 90% of the pictures plans diagrams etc inside are done by myself so.... Apart from that I will just put also put some freelance stuff, my master thesis and an university project related to the thesis.

Oct 7, 19 5:43 pm
Non Sequitur

30 pages is long. 90 pages is stupid. 

Hopefully there is good design process  in that folio and not just final renderings. 

Oct 7, 19 6:53 pm  · 
 · 
Chad Miller

Personally I commit around 6-8 relevant projects with each project being 2 pages.  My teaser page that is sent along with my CVS is only three pages, showing my process, renderings, and finished project.  

Oct 7, 19 7:12 pm  · 
 · 
archanonymous

Short portfolio should be short as others say - 10-20 pages at most and formatted for email.

My "long" portfolio is over 400 pages. Each project is explored in depth with sketches, models, renderings, construction and final photos and excerpts from documents. This is 10 years of professional experience. Each project is essentially a complete story. I only bring this to interviews in person.