Archinect
anchor

Many good interviews but no offers.

jwsd

I have been interviewing in the past two months trying to secure a new contract position for 1 year before I go back to school for my MArch. I already have 1,5 years of professional experience.

So far I've had great success securing several interviews at top firms, but no job offers.

I have interviewed at places like Gensler, AECOM and various others very large firms where I was shortlisted from over 400 candidates. I have received various compliments on my portfolio like 'very proficient' 'advanced' 'excellent' 'exceptional' and I am certain that my work is of high quality.

In terms of technical skills, I have experience working on CD sets and I am a Revit Certified Professional. Some firms asked for parametric skills (Dynamo, Grasshopper) but I don't have any experience in that.

I approach all interviews in a very professional manner, dressing well, eye contact, smile, strong handshake, positive attitude and I follow up with an email or LinkedIn note two days later.

The only negative aspect on my resume is that I have been on a sabbatical leave for the past 6 months but that only came up twice in interviews.

Other than that, I have difficulty understanding why I have not yet been successful in securing a new position.

Some possible reasons I can think of:

-Interview technique

-Overqualified

-Age discrimination (I am 28, as I was a mature student at school)

-Not having a connection to recommend me for the position as opposed to other candidates (I have approached all firms through a formal job application)

I keep applying but I am somewhat discouraged as I have already been turned down from 8 interviews at very good firms and the summer recruitment period is now coming to an end.

Has this ever happened to you and what would be your advice?

Aug 21, 19 12:22 pm

3 Featured Comments

All 12 Comments

SneakyPete

Generally asking for a job with a built-in one year sunset is difficult.