Archinect
anchor

Licensed CA architect consulting for unlicensed interior designer

arch0142

I'm a newly licensed architect in California. I have an opportunity to do some side consulting work with an interior designer that does small residential renovations, and hires a licensed structural engineer as his consultant as well. (In California, unlicensed individuals can legally provide construction documents for certain types of small-scope projects, and his projects fall into this category.)

The interior designer has a contract between him and his clients. I would only have a contract directly with the interior designer as his consultant. Furthermore, the interior designer will be producing a substantial part of the work not under my responsible control, so for obvious reasons, I am not willing to stamp the drawings nor is he expecting me to. For this reason, I am thinking that my name should be kept off of the drawing set entirely (not even listed as a consultant), as I am primarily helping with drafting work, and prepping sets for permit applications, doing renderings, etc. This is solely a side-job for me and a means to get a little bit of extra income.

My contract with him requires that I get liability insurance, which I will get. My question is, does anyone see a problem with this arrangement? Is there anything more I should be aware of, to cover myself legally and perform these consulting duties appropriately? Or does this all sound like a bad idea? Thanks for your input.

May 14, 19 12:48 pm
chigurh

just remember that if a project goes into a lawsuit everybody gets named and those with a decent insurance policy are a good target with deep pockets.  

May 14, 19 12:51 pm  · 
 · 
SneakyPete

You could be opening yourself up for liability.