Archinect
anchor

Graduate/Intern Abroad?

babyarchitect1

I'm a student, so if you aren't interested you can skip, I just wanted to reach a wider audience on the forums. 

Is this so far-fetched that I should not even think about it? For architecture to be such a global and cultural degree they really make it impossible to do anything outside of the US with nothing being accredited. I was looking into options for graduate school and was interested in what possibilities i have for being in a foreign country for a portion of time. Whether working or studying. I'm turned off by the "once in a lifetime experience" of traditional study abroad 'tour groups' that many of my undergrad classmates did that required zero work and triple tuition. Additionally, intern hours would count only if I was working for an architect that is also licensed in the US. Is there somewhere to look to know if someone working abroad is also licensed in the US? I can't imagine that it is prevalent. Maybe a US graduate school that requires a co-op of some sort? I'm looking now, because obviously I don't plan to live abroad permanently or indefinitely, but I like the idea of a 'short' time living in a foreign country working or studying. (i know work visas are hard to get) While the travel opportunities are great, I'm more interested how it can benefit me professionally. Since I'm still in a transition point of my life, I see more options for this type of thing to happen sooner than later. I know in other degrees, people do internships abroad for 6 months, but how does that even work in architecture if they can't even count towards you AXP? 

Oct 25, 18 3:37 pm
JBeaumont