Archinect
anchor

Can I start an architecture firm having a B.Arch and Masters in Project Management ?

_SAM

Hello fellow architects. I am an architect, I have thoughts of doing mansters in project/construction management. I am very clear of that I want to start my own firm. I want to know whether Masters in P/C M is going to be of any help in having my own firm. I am also not sure of construction management as a business. Can any of you all having an experience in CM or having your firm into CM please help me with this ? Also I have interest in Architecture Design but I am not interested in becoming a starchitect, I believe that primarily good architecture should cater to the needs of the users. I have had an interest in planning,oraganising and managing stuff, so the interest in CM.

I am still not confident about what to be done. Can anyone explain how do I figure out my interests.

1.Would a masters in CM would give me an added advantage when I have a firm?
2.Woud a masters in CM and experience as a P/C M would taper down my interest in architecture ? 
3. Would masters in P/C M keep me in a better state to manage my business and deal with clients or get commissions ?

for ref. http://www.wzwx-group.com/

Feb 20, 18 11:02 am
Non Sequitur

How much real world experience do you have?

Feb 20, 18 12:20 pm  · 
 · 
_SAM

3 years.

Feb 20, 18 11:16 pm  · 
 · 
Non Sequitur

That's not long enough to see any significant project through concept to final occupancy.

Feb 20, 18 11:23 pm  · 
 · 
_SAM

How long do you think is an ideal real world experience ?

Feb 20, 18 11:29 pm  · 
 · 
Non Sequitur

5 more in direct project management if you want to achieve what you claim above. You learn this shit in practice, not school.

Feb 20, 18 11:33 pm  · 
 · 
_SAM

What if I do not go for masters in CM and continue working at an architecture firm ? How many total years of experience would be ideal to start just architecture firm ?

Feb 20, 18 11:36 pm  · 
 · 
Non Sequitur