Archinect
anchor

parametric details?

awaiting_deletion

our capacity to design and visualize complex geometry is far, far ahead of our ability to manipulate matter - archanonymous

I very much second this quote, and curt and miles that does sound depressing and def. kills what I do a for a living, putting materials together in details....and tectonics a moot point.....with performance in mind you angle in on engineering, but so far many of Marc's example show something else.

Driveway urbanism: Archinect Sessions One-to-One #3 with Jenna Didier, founder of Materials & Applications  btw I had no idea what this podcast would be about, but very much in our theme 75% into (heard it today, was posted 2 days after thread and no I don't work or have any connection to Archinect at that level) must be something in the ether...

Marc and Ivory - on a particular job that had the budget, we had an issue with regard to getting a size of glass for a type of glass.  it seemed stupid we couldn't get this glass in North America, but apparently outside of Germany no one had a machine that could make this type of glass at a certain size.  Come to find out, you have to have advanced machines to make even more advanced machines, and that type of technology just doesn't exist here on certain trades....an older architect also told me he had seen something like laser cutting and 3d prototyping back in the 70's in Stuttgard, DE.....

no_form thanks for link.....

so why don't we use 3D printing to make better tools to make better details?

Nov 24, 15 7:57 pm  · 
 · 
awaiting_deletion

Marc are your links are real interesting, keep'em coming

Nov 24, 15 7:59 pm  · 
 · 

No, it's an analog. I'm well aware that he leverages materials against one another to explore outcomes and performance. 

Nov 24, 15 8:42 pm  · 
 · 
awaiting_deletion

just ordered a bunch of books.......