Archinect
anchor

California Supplemental Exam

BulgarBlogger

Has anyone taken this? I am a NY licensed architect and would like to know what the exam is like and what to expect and how to prepare for it. 

Thanks!

Aug 29, 15 9:47 am
chigurh

took it...brain dumped it...all I really remember was you review some super generic project docs - site plan - plans, sections, notes; then take a multiple choice exam pertaining to California specific agency approvals and compliance.  DSA, costal commission, environmental agencies, EPA, air quality management...California stuff not covered in the regular ARE exams.  I remember it being pretty easy, took the exam in some weird computer center in Rosemead or something..not your regular prometric center...good luck. 

Aug 29, 15 4:45 pm  · 
1  · 
x-jla

^glad the public is now safe...

Aug 29, 15 11:11 pm  · 
 · 
chigurh

oh yea...because memorizing some obscure code sections make the public more safe...

Aug 30, 15 10:29 am  · 
 · 
x-jla

sounds like a clever way to suck more fees...gotta love california big govt.  

Aug 30, 15 12:33 pm  · 
 · 
citizen

I just dropped my renewal in the mailbox five minutes ago.

As hard as it is getting your license... never let it lapse.

Aug 30, 15 4:55 pm  · 
 · 
TIQM

I let mine lapse...which was a major blunder on my part.  To get it back, I had to re-take the California Supplemental exam, which was an oral exam at the time.  Really difficult, and intimidating, with a very low pass rate.  I passed, thank goodness.

Listen to citizen.  never let it lapse.

Aug 31, 15 7:23 pm  · 
1  · 
Studio_Blueprint