Archinect
anchor

Need Advice: International architect in Canada

ketankaul
Hi Everyone,

I'm an international architect with 7years of experience from India recently moved to Canada, seeking advice on how to move forward for a successful career in architecture.
I'm currently looking for a job to start my internship as directed by CACB. I have applied to various firms (last 2months) for different jobs, but no response are coming through.

I'm trying to figure out what is going wrong! Do I need to acquire some certain skills, like 3D software skills or else. I'm totally confused!
Any kind of advice might be helpful. Thanks.

Apr 4, 15 8:18 pm
Benjamin0801

Your best bet is to network network network!

Apr 28, 15 2:06 pm  · 
 · 
Non Sequitur

Network is not as big a thing in Canada.  There is loads of work available in many cities. The issue for foreign trained architects is their familiarity with the local codes and construction/professional practices. You can "network" all you want but at the end of the day, if you cant confidently put together a set of CDs, then what use are you?

Apr 28, 15 2:19 pm  · 
 · 
Benjamin0801

I don't agree. That's a very negative response Non Sequitur. Sending out resumes blindly is useless. I tried this - it doesn't work. I'm not sure why Canada is so different.

I am a UK educated designer working in the USA. Not knowing local codes did not harm me. I now work for a very large International company. I got my current job through joining the AIA and networking to find the opportunities. Networking does work and I'm pretty sure it works in Canada too.

Guess what, I can also put together a set of CDs.

Apr 29, 15 6:27 pm  · 
 · 
Non Sequitur
Sure, networking can work but given the smaller population and distances between larger urban centers, there is less mixing opp in Canada.