Archinect
anchor

Need help reducing mistakes at work

Anob

To all my fellow, CAD Monkeys, Drafters, Draftsman, Draftsperson, Junior Architects, and to those former CAD Monkeys, Drafters, Draftsman, Draftsperson, Junior Architects,

I work as a draftsman in a medium size firm. Lately I've been making too many CAD mistakes and other office errors. Granted that ive been thrown a lot of work and projects at one time. I feel theres a bad communication later when giving a simple task. My confidence has gone down because of these mistakes. I usually check my work 2 or 3 times before I hand it off to a project architect or a principal. 

Can anyone give me some advice to reduce my CAD mistakes, office errors , and increase better communication with the principals and co-workers? Does this sought of thing happens often in professional medium to big offices  or is it me? Is this problem architecturally exclusive?

Oct 9, 14 7:42 am
gruen
What kind of errors?
Oct 9, 14 8:34 am  · 
 · 
subgenius

Always have someone, briefly, check your work before you hand off.

develop a checklist <---- literally check things off a physical list.

be aware of recurring mistakes and why they seem to recur.

really....develop a checklist and stick to it and let others see you sticking to it so that you become predictable with it...even known for it.

Oct 9, 14 9:16 am  · 
1  · 
curtkram

did you proofread your post here before posting it?

Oct 9, 14 9:31 am  · 
 · 
sameolddoctor

Quit before they fire you. You are over this job in your mind. You're welcome.

Oct 9, 14 9:36 am  · 
 · 
molten

^^ Listen to the doctor.

Oct 9, 14 9:41 am  · 
 · 

Do less work, make fewer mistakes.

Translation: don't take on more than you can handle.

Oct 9, 14 10:10 am  · 
 · 
toosaturated

Time management is important and can reduce mistakes. If  you set aside time for a specific project and solely focus on that one project during that timeframe, you should be more focused and less likely to make mistakes.