Archinect
anchor

Tokyo Visit

atmos

my studio is heading to tokyo in 2 weeks for a site visit to odaiba. its my first time there so i wanted to know of recommendations of spots to visit or things to see.

Oct 6, 07 8:31 pm

Check the Tokyo tour by Ludwig here.

Oct 6, 07 10:22 pm  · 
 · 
crishen

By any chance, are you a student at the University of Hawai'i?

Oct 8, 07 1:38 am  · 
 · 
mkokimoto

If you can get to Osaka, visit the Osaka sewer museum. It's six floors dedicated to the treatment of raw sewage. Besides the food, thats the reason I really want to go to Osaka. Yes, I want to see sewage.

If you appreciate art/culture such as anime, be sure to visit the Ghibli Museum. It is dedicated to work of Studio Ghibli, a well known and very famous studio in Japan. You might be familiar with some of their work.

How about Tokyo Tower? Thats sort of interesting.

some folks have been telling me to visit this place called a 'maid cafe'. Apparently its a cafe where the waitresses dress like cute maids and serve you fruit parfait. It doesn't sound all too bad, that fruit parfait thing. What do you guys think it tastes like? Cheesecake?

Man I want some cheesecake now.

But how about taking a list of Ando's work with you and visiting the Tokyo sites you believe to be of interest? Have you guys ever had cheesecake with blueberries on top?

It's weird how cheesecake is made from a dairy product but I love eating it with milk! It's like eating mashed potatoes with a side of white rice.

Oct 8, 07 2:52 am  · 
 · 

nani?

ghibli is slightly ok, but is like disneyland in enough ways to be a turnoff if not expecting it.

my office is a few blocks from tokyo tower and i couldn't recommend it. it has a column in its center and a building at its base. makes no sense that it is otherwise a copy of the eiffel tower...