Archinect
anchor

Transferring from Architectural Technology to Architecture

phaseshift

Hello,

I am a student in a 2 year AT diploma at a Canadian Technical college, and am at a crossroads in my academic life. I'm done my second semester, but am becoming concerned that I may have made a poor choice in not applying to an undergrad program. I've come to realize that while the technical skills I'm learning are going to be useful in this career path, I most likely won't get to design anything significant (if at all), and am not feeling challenged by my program. I have a 4.0 GPA, and am thinking of Ryerson as my top choice to transfer into after graduating, but need some advice as to whether this is the right choice for me, or if my concerns are justified.

Some background information: I've wanted to be an architect for a long time. I went into my program directly from high school in 2016, after being recommended to my college by a design studies teacher. My high school marks were what I'd consider good (A's & B's, 155 credits, plenty of extracurriculars & the french AP exam), and gave me quite a well rounded education. My marks weren't high enough to be competitive in applying to somewhere like Waterloo, and I really wish I worked just a bit harder, but there's no sense in asking what-ifs. In my senior year, life events distracted me from the application process, and I was therefore relatively uninformed about university programs. I knew AT would be highly technical and that most universities had a theory-based approach, but now feel that I might've shoehorned myself into the wrong school for my goals.

I am now much more informed on admissions & know the steps I have to take to become a registered architect, and think a bachelor's degree in architecture would be the path for me even if I don't take a master's program & write the registration exam. So, my questions are: