Archinect
anchor

Ottawa Area Architects

Voltaire

To everyone who practices in Ottawa, Canada...

I am a really motivated student who will be attending Carleton University in the fall to study Architecture (B.A.S 4 years). Is there anyone who is willing to allow me to job shadow, even volunteer in any position?

Although I have yet to begin school, I am eager to start learning what I will need in the future (how to create a portfolio for applying to jobs, how to communicate, how a firm works). Hopefully, a relationship that I may create will lend itself as a stepping-stone to an internship I will need after graduating from a master's program.

Can someone give any advice as to how I can land any position at a firm when in undergraduate school?

Jul 18, 10 10:10 pm
mapd

During your first year you won't have enough free time to do any sort of work outside of school.
You can look for something during the summer though but your probably better off in Toronto or Montreal.
From my experience, I'd say most offices are reluctant to take on someone until after second year/ have some knowledge of CAD/BIM software, but if your volunteering I guess its a different story...

Jul 19, 10 12:08 pm  · 
 · 
Voltaire

Do you know of any CAD/BIM courses outside of school? I have looked for workshops and none come up, I guess it's more of a personal thing to start learning them.

Do firms look for formal experience regarding this kind of software knowledge? For example, I knew how to use photoshop, and knew how to use it well, before I ever had a go at it in school. Could I simply show my work to them on a laptop if I were to go in?

I realise that first year will be overwhelming for me, therefore I'm not looking for a position in that time. I was hoping a firm could take me in for a simple position or just allow me to sit and watch some CAD monkey do his thing, I'd learn a lot just by watching- too bad just one out of 20 firms bothered to reply to my e-mails, haha.