Archinect
anchor

advice on getting an entry level job?

CheesesChrist

I'm sure this is an old topic, but has anybody recently gotten an entry level job without networking? If so, you would be an awesome person to share how you got it. Were you humble or cocky on your cover letter? Did you call the firm, write by mail, typical email? Small, mid, or large sized firms?

I graduated in May with my B.Arch from a good school and was accepted into Harvard, Columbia etc. when I applied for M.arch in december. Decided to get some professional experience first, but this 0 years experience on my resume/not really knowing anybody makes it difficult. Most of the kids that have jobs from my class got it through their family's connections. A good number of us are still looking.

I've learned that sending your resume by email is basically a huge waste of time. My mom told me to just show up places, which I think I might do next week.

Any advice would be much appreciated.

Hopeless longshot...but if your firm is hiring a cad monkey in NYC or DC, message me!

Jul 13, 10 9:22 pm
outed

there are, indeed, a ton of posts on the topic. to summarize:

#1 - do your homework.
#2 - network like hell.
#3 - do not just 'show up places' - no one has time for you.
#4 - rinse, lather, repeat.

at the moment, it seems like you've bypassed #1, don't want to put the effort into #2, and want to try #3 although general consensus says not to.

good luck!

Jul 13, 10 9:31 pm  · 
 · 
achensch

if it's too late to go to school, then you may be an excellent candidate for this

Jul 13, 10 10:32 pm  · 
 · 
CrazyHouseCat

Wow, why didn't you go to March? School is the best place to weather this recession.

With that said, I've recently gotten a job offer. ( I have 2 years of experience, so, pretty close to entry level.)

Not through networking. though the employer saw my college prof's name on my portfolio and checked up on me there