Archinect
anchor

skill development for the particularly unlucky

qdpv

so i screwed up a bit.

my question is: what's the best way to develop your technical skills and increase your knowledge base without working in an architecture office? better yet, what's the best way to do that if you have practically no experience?

i worked hardcore on my academics through ungrad (4 year unaccredited from a good school), spent my summers taking classes, did some work-study to pay the bills, and was able to graduate early with some solid work for my portfolio... but for some reason interning at an arch office while in school never really crossed my mind. i graduated fall of '07, spent two months traveling, had a short stint at an office, and then... nothing.

like a lot of people i've been scraping by ever since with the hope of landing an arch job. but the humbling truth is that the skills i developed in school just aren't very marketable or relevant in this type of job market. i can put together some pretty pictures and nice diagrams and come up with kick ass concepts, but forget about anything fundamental. full cds, building codes, ... unfortunately, these are things i never touched in school and that i've hardly skimmed professionally.

so the question again is: what does someone do in this position?

---

my novel idea is to work on a new project for my portfolio and to develop a full set of cds for it. easier said than done. i bought and read andrew watts' modern construction handbook and recently got a hold of a building code manual, but it's all a bit overwhelming and sprawling. is there an ideal way to learn this material, particularly building codes? and once i learn it, how would i communicate my knowledge in a job application in a serious way, since i wouldn't have learned it in an office?

---

if you've made it this far i really appreciate it. hopefuly this thread can be useful to others in a similar position.

Jun 21, 10 4:18 pm
The Job Captain