Archinect
anchor

Advice for an aspiring M.Arch student?

cmarshalle

I am wondering if anyone has any words of wisdom for someone interested in pursuing a graduate arch degree. I completed my bachelor's in business last year from a top business school and absolutely hate my life. For the last 5 years I have been working in insurance and I can barely take another day.

When I was seven years old I became interested in architecture. My very small Indiana school had very few design related classes, so outside of building trades, drafting, and a CAD class, I never really tried too hard to get into an undergrad arch program. I made a few visits to some schools and found them very inspiring, but somehow family pressures pushed me into the business world.

I got a great education and loved every minute of my undergrad experience, but now I feel like I completely missed something. Everyone told me I would get out of school with a great degree, make great money, and live happily ever after.

So as of now I am strongly considering two options. My first option is to return to my undergrad school and start taking some design classes and enter the interior design program there to at least test the waters. This is a very safe approach as I live 10 minutes from the school and my roots are here.

The other option I am considering is moving to Boston and starting an M.Arch program at Boston Arch College. Yeah, I have no portfolio and no design experience so this is pretty much my only direct shot into an m.arch program. I have done a lot of research on the school and realize the pros and cons of the program, but I guess I am just looking for some overall feedback.

I know the economy absolutely sucks right now, but do I sound completely crazy to want to pursue arch given my background? I am only 24 now, but I feel like my life is in need of an intervention.

May 18, 10 6:46 pm
m22b