Archinect
anchor

Bringing in Work...

Larchinect

For the more experienced, when did you start bringing in work to your current or former firm(s) and what was it like? How did it happen and how did you deal with the potential clients peronalities and negotiations?

I am a junior level landscape architect (unlicensed, so I am actaully a designer) with a LA degree, fwiw. I graduated just about a year ago from a local university and subsequently went for around 6 months unemployed. In that time I worked diligently on my portfolio and website. Through these two things I've actaully had two calls regarding my availability to work on fairly 'prestigious' (poor word choice perhaps) project in the area, both of which have yet to follow-through, but nonetheless exciting. It looks like one project will happen, we're just waiting for the deal to go through and the other seems pretty uncertain, but the client owns some very important land.

I'm working in a very small office and my boss and I have had the discussion about a raise or bonus considering the potential work I'm bringing now. I declined, maybe stupidly, a raise about a month ago in lieu of waiting for the project terms to be solidifed and now I'm still waiting.

I guess what I'm getting at is that some of these experiences are probably somewhat out of the ordinary for a junior level person, and that the experience in terms of the business aspects has been somewhat humbling in that I realize how little I understand (or really care to) about the mechanics of business behind the design and pretty pictures.

What advice would you give?

Any feedback is appreciated..

May 17, 10 1:09 pm
mightylittle™

here's my advice:

think long and hard about this statement you just made...

I realize how little I understand (or really care to) about the mechanics of business

see what i just did there? you should care far more about the business of business than about pretty pictures.