Archinect
anchor

Residential Experience Only - Looking to expand

It_is_I

Hey everybody:

I have worked in the same residential firm in jersey since I graduated from both my bachelor's and my master's. I got stuck in a mental rut, but now i am ready to get back out there and seek new opportunities. Yes I know bad timing, and yes i feel fortunate I have a job.

I would like to get a job in nyc and are starting to research what are my best options. Would love a job in a "green" firm but I am realize that I am competing with a vast pool of people

My questions for you guys would be:

Since my experience has only been in residential additions, how much have i shot myself in the foot for staying in this firm for so long? I have been here 5+ years and it is only a three person firm, me being the youngest.

Since i have been out of school for so long, i know employers want to see examples of work experience more then actual school projects, How do i show my experience as a positive in my portfolio? by including actual details, sections, renderings etc etc?
anyone who has made the transition between jersey residential and NYC firm have any suggestions?

Is it realistic for me to be able to obtain a salary of $60k plus?

any feedback would be greatly appreciated.

I am leed ap, I have finished my idp and I have not taken any exams towards my license as of yet.

May 4, 10 4:50 pm
aquapura

While experience is experience, residential and commerical are different worlds in many ways. While I'd guess you probably have the ability to pick up with the learning curve faster than a fresh grad, you still have a big adjustment ahead.

With that said what are your marketable skills? I think a firm would bite quicker if you know Revit or some other in demand software.

May 4, 10 5:14 pm  · 
 · 
It_is_I

Thanks for your response

I guess that is what i am trying to determine, what is my markebility for the new york market, and if its bad how to improve it?