Archinect
anchor

the state of architecture in the USA

usernametaken

Ok, I'm far from an expert on this topic, so that's why I try posting it here. There are just some things that I, as an outsider, don't understand about the state of architecture (in general) in the USA.

First off: the school work that I see, is among the most imaginative, intellectual, and of the highest quality world wide. Granted, there might be enough crap schools, but there are plenty of brilliant, good and half decent students around.

Then, most of those people that did well in design are going to end up as "interns". This baffles me: for me an intern is someone who works in an office during studies, or shortly after. How can one be an intern for that long?

That having said: why does it take a million years for someone to be licensed? Is the liability/responsibility in the USA that much higher than in other countries? For example: to my knowledge, architects in Germany have one of the heaviest liabilities in the world. But still, you are a licensed architect if you've worked for two/three years after graduation. I don't understand why it's that much different in the USA.

Other than that: with some exeptions, most of the architecture coming out of the USA isn't among the most creative, most imaginative that can be found in the world. I'd sooner say Japan, or Spain, or Switzerland, or whereever are producing much higher quality architecture. Even a small country like the Netherlands, about 1/25th the size of the USA is pretty much producing more good architecture. What happens to all the good designers in education? Is the system of interning (cad-monkeying) wearing them down, wrenching all creativity out? Or do the developers/clients have a legally strong position to force the architects to do whatever they want?