Archinect
anchor

interviewing with 8 years exper.

I have around 8 years of experience and will be interviewing again soon. What should I bring to the interview besides my resume? Obviously printouts of built work and a few cd sets.... but how do I format or present these? Recreate a post academic portfolio, bound and everything,.... or just format the images on 8.5x11s?
Any suggestions would be great. Thanks

Apr 17, 10 11:33 am
zen maker

Bring anything that can be a proof of your 8 years of experience.

Apr 17, 10 12:41 pm  · 
 · 
cajunarch

I wouldnt waste the time/effort re-formatting print-outs or CD's of your professional work - just bring what you got and be prepared to talk about it. I typically dont want to look at a college portfolio after 2-3 years of work out of school duriong our interviews

good luck!

Apr 17, 10 10:22 pm  · 
 · 
tuna

thats a good point cajunarch. its funny to see portfolios that includes charcoal drawings of fruit and self portraits for positions that doesn't have any use for them. its nice to know that people enjoy traveling but i don't need to see black and white photographs of your world travels. keep it current!

Apr 18, 10 12:50 am  · 
 · 
BlueGoose

to the extent you are interviewing for what you hope to be a "career" position, you may want to assemble a portfolio of materials that present you in the broadest sort of way.

personally, when I'm interviewing experienced candidates I find it valuable to view -- in addition to examples of recent work -- both a limited sample of school work and examples of artwork produced by the candidate at whatever stage of their career. the early work experience of so many young architects is so narrow (mostly presentation work and CDs) that it's hard to get a good view of the "whole" person if the only materials we are allowed to view during the interview are professional documents from the past 3-5 years.