Archinect
anchor

Acceptances Letters came back

talentjones

okay here is the deal. im in my late 20's and i have a financial industry background. i worked in the financial industry at various front office capacities for the past 10 years. For the last 4 years i have been in the commercial real estate space doing investment banking and i have been more intrigued by the the design and creative side of the business, however i dont want to completely abandon my finance background. i recently decided to change my career to architecture. I applied to 6 schools. My undergrad degree was in finance and information technology with a minor in economics, my gpa was 2.5 overall (primarily because oi was pre-med when i started but changed majors in my 2nd year) graduated with a 3.0 gpa in major. My GRE score was 800, im not a great standardized test taker. i thought i had a good portfolio and excellent reccommendations and decided to apply to M.Arch programs.

Well letters came back, i got waitlisted at Syracuse and Sci-Arc and denied at the others. Not sure what to do or what my next step is...

any advice??? I really want to do this and possibly get my MBA in Design a d Strategy in the process, but i wanted to get into Arch School first. I do have a family but are finances are in order so that we have the flexibility.

Im thinking of doing the summer institute at Harvard and a few others, still trying to decide and see which one is the most cost effective and beneficial for me.

Need advice pronto -- it'll help

Apr 13, 10 2:06 am
med.

Call the schools up and ask to speak to the chair of the grad programs. Ask plenty of questions about your short-commings and make it clear how interested you are in their programs, and how serious you are of pursuing an architectural education and career. There might be a chance they could offer you provisional acceptance.

I speak from experience.

Best of luck!

Apr 13, 10 1:11 pm  · 
 · 
talentjones