Archinect
anchor

survival guide to architectural internship

I am a young-ish architect in Seattle and have been asked to write a survival guide on architectural internship. The content is supposed to help recent grads and interns navigate through the reality of finding a job, IDP, registration, and other everyday work stuff like performance reviews and moonlighting.

I would like to include some stories from interns and other young architects to help illustrate some of the points and also share other's experiences (how boring it would be if this book was me just jabbering on about my own experiences.)

So based on other postings, I hope that there may be some of you on this list that would be interested in contributing to the book. I'll list some topics below and if you have something to say about one, just post something by Nov 5. I will check back then, but this will allow others to read and learn from your experiences as well.

Thanks in advance for your help!

Topics:
What IDP categories have been the hardest to complete?
How did you obtain IDP credits in these “harder-to-obtain” categories.
What does your firm do to support IDP?
Have you encountered firms/supervisors that have resisted helping you with IDP?
Your mentor – how did you meet and what do you do with him/her?
Your first interview – what was it like? What questions do you wish you asked?
Moonlighting – have you done it? what is your firm's position on it?

Oct 29, 04 10:45 pm
alphanumericcha

Let’s see, my first interview. It went something like this. I walk into a conference room. Nice looking older man well dressed sitting at one of the side chairs of a simple but nice quality conference table. Let’s call him Mr. Architect. Mr. Architect says, “Nice to meet you Jim. Please sit down. How was the traffic, find the place OK?”