Archinect
anchor

Employment/Internship without knowledge of software?

Oonaknuj

I have no actual experience in the field of architecture other than a summer doing Harvard GSD's Career Discovery program and would like to get some experience working in the field. But I am wondering what kind of position I might be able to get at an architecture or design firm with so little experience? I have knowledge of Adobe Suite software and am familiar with model-making and basic design principles but I don't currently know how to use CAD or how to do renderings or anything of that sort. Can these things be learned on the job? What kind of options am I looking at? 

Background: BA in Film. MA in Media Studies. Work experience in the art/art administration and editorial fields. 

Mar 12, 14 11:50 pm
On the fence

Uhm.....

Mar 13, 14 2:22 pm  · 
 · 
1likejam

The Architecture profession is flooded with under and post graduates of architecture. Without being incredibly proficient with software, rendering and model making I would think it would be almost impossible. 

Mar 13, 14 2:53 pm  · 
 · 
Quentin

Yea, you basically have no shot unless perhaps you know someone who can give you a chance. In the meantime, try to start getting a grasp on AutoCAD and Revit.

Mar 13, 14 3:36 pm  · 
 · 
Oonaknuj

What about unpaid internships? 

Mar 13, 14 5:07 pm  · 
 · 
Bench

Honestly - with (from the sounds of it) your very minimal skillset, being in an office will likely cost the firm more in their time explaining/editing your work than having done it themselves in the first place.

Paid > Unpaid > Payback...
Sorry to put it so bluntly, but there's really no way around it.

Mar 13, 14 5:40 pm  · 
 · 
1likejam