Archinect
anchor

'Cause the field needs more job seekers (jumping back in after some time)

october

I'm looking for tips, ideas, thoughts, etc. about looking for design work after some years off.

Basically, I graduated with my M ARCH and had a baby and have been a homemaker and part time certification coordinator (non-design field) for the last 10 years.

A few years back I updated my AutoCAD skills, and I've reworked my portfolio.

On the plus side, our household isn't in dire straights and I'm not unemployed, but on the minus side, of course, it's a terrible time and it's been 10 years.

Any ideas?

Dec 27, 09 1:10 pm
LML

download sketchup, free version--ACAD is probably going away soon, and you need to start getting some 3D skills.

Dec 27, 09 1:22 pm  · 
 · 
liberty bell

I'd suggest looking in your area for sole proprietor practices - the kind of people who do remodel work, light commercial, residential - they might be more likely to take someone on part-time or on an as-needed basis, just as a way to get back into the field while maintaining the flexibility that your kid(s) probably require (I'm in a somewhat similar situation as a mother).

Also, frankly, firms headed by women might be a better opportunity too - and there really are quite a few sole prop. women-owned firms out here in the world, women who faced the mother-professional struggle and solved it by striking out on their own.

But yes, it's a terrible time to be looking, a hideously awful time in fact, so don't get discouraged if you can't find anything!

Dec 27, 09 1:28 pm  · 
 · 
october

Thanks LML and liberty bell--I appreciate the help!

Sketchup, huh? Too bad since I'm good with AutoCAD, but to have things moving to a program with a free download version and free online learning is the next best thing, I suppose.

Dec 28, 09 2:42 pm  · 
 · 
Cherith Cutestory