Archinect
anchor

Using projects from other firms on my upstart office's website

biripbirip

As a Senior Project Architect, I have worked for a wide range for firms for the last 12 years and have developed a substantial portfolio of work where I've played a seminal role in their execution.

I have recently set up my private practice in NYC, and was planning on using some of the projects above referenced in my office's website. I am obviously planning to credit the office where I developed those projects under, and cite the role I played.

Anyway, I would be interested to find out other people's opinion on this matter. Has someone encountered any legal issues (on projects where a confidentiality agreement was not signed)? Could this potentially send a strange message to prospective clients?, etc. All feedback will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

Nov 20, 09 9:29 pm
mental

you could contact the firm(s) that you worked for and ask?

Nov 20, 09 9:34 pm  · 
 · 
otis151

I've seen this done before...specifically where people were involved with personally creating renderings and drawings for certain projects and then moved on to start their own freelance business. In all cases, the firm where the project was completed was clearly displayed. A good example of this would be Kevin Kennon, KKA in new york. He was a partner at KPF and then left in the 90's to start his own firm. He is displaying projects from KPF where he was the lead designer/architect while clearly indicating they were done while at KPF.

If you worked for a firm where the partners are a little on edge and maybe even a little insane about publishing and proprietary information, I wouldn't even try to publish that work. Otherwise, I agree with mental...just publish with proper credits or call them and ask.

Nov 20, 09 10:10 pm  · 
 · 
bRink

I've seen this done too... Might be worthwhile calling to ask in order to cover your bases legally...

Nov 20, 09 11:08 pm  · 
 · 
LB_Architects