Archinect
anchor

CNC, 3d Printing, other tech - Where are we at?

dia

Hi,

I am out of play in respect to the current status of the above technologies and their use in architecture [both academic and 'real-world']. Anyone care to share their thoughts and resources on what is currently being done, able to be done, or has been done?

Back in the day, I was a student at SIAL - but only fleetingly...

I am particularly interested in outputting geometric information as physical surfaces - interested in what level of detail can be achieved these days through CNC. 3 axis drilling etc.

d

Jun 28, 09 8:16 pm
Per--Corell

A very interesting issue, but it looks like many of these new technikes is published, and then it stop. They do not progress and over time the drawbaks show. Instant prototyping is interesting, but you only get a fragile item in the wrong material that can only be used as a show piece. 3 axis routers seem a bit more interesting, -- unless you think you gain anything by routering an intire car body in foam plastic.
Mainly all these, except the CNC that can route various heavy mashines to cut, punch, or router mainly 2D materials, seem to standstill.
Those technikes that work has been here for a decade, -- mold making and sheet cutting. But I can not think of one technike, where in one end the digital drawing is put in, and out the other end come the final product.
Still I see 3dh as an exception, as there a compleatly new way to put things together into a new and compleatly different structure realy work, and work in many scale.

Jun 29, 09 5:50 am  · 
 · 
Mission St.

I don't know if I believe this, but Popular Science magazine published this little tidbit about "The world's largest 3-D megaprinter(...)"

http://www.popsci.com/scitech/article/2009-06/print-out-your-next-building

Jun 29, 09 3:18 pm  · 
 · 
msudon

I believe it, the picture barely shows the absolutely gi-normous housing that it needs to "print" some thing of that scale.