Archinect
anchor

Your approach to marketing your firm?

clemsontiger

I'm a Registered Landscape Architect here in S.C., employed with an engineering firm.

As the work through our Engineers disappears, I am strapping on my boots and hitting the pavement to drum up some work of my own. I've developed a small (10 page) project sample portfolio that shows the range of my work. I have it in print form and emailable pdf.

I have come to this forum because my initial target market will be local architects. My ultimate goal would be a meeting, but I don't want to be pushy, but this is one hell of a pushy market and the squeaky wheel...blablabla. Sometimes the key to a meeting is through the lovely gatekeepers at reception.

My question is, what is the popular approach?
How do you each like to be approached by an individual?
Is it email or hard copy?
Is it a brief phone call to introduce and request a drop off or email of materials?
Is it a lunch meeting?

I want to run my own firm and need these skills to be successful, so I appreciate any insight.

Jun 15, 09 10:24 pm
outed

clemson - be careful about marketing yourself as 'a firm' while on someone else's payroll. most employers (and i'm in this camp) don't take too kindly to that particular 'initiative'. personally, i'd boot your derrière out on the street if i got wind of what you were up to...

that said, if you're trying to get an architect's attention, i'd do a website before any printed material. even a basic website, cleanly done, will do wonders because it can allow for me to peruse your work on my time.

lunch always works wonders as well.

don't go cheap on your fees but no matter what, provide kick ass service. for me or whoever you work for. that will pay the biggest dividends and go the longest way towards marketing yourself.

Jun 16, 09 12:12 am  · 
 · 
Larchinect