Archinect
anchor

A career change from civil engineering to architecture

archinous

I am a korean, 36 year old, married, with 1 kid. I studied in the US for my BA in urban planning and master of architecture. I also worked as architectural designer for 1 year in the US. Now, I have been working as civil engineer for 3 years in Korea. But, I am considering going back to the architectural design field.

It was 2009 when I graduated from graduate school. I had no chance of getting a job in the US and returned to Korea. I took a job as civil engineer at a company that runs nuclear power plants like GE, Duke Energy, etc. It is big, reputable, stable public enterprise. I make 50,000 USD yearly and do not have to worry about layoff for next 20 years. I can live as middle class here and my wife is happy. However, I do not want to be stuck in this nuclear power plant construction field for my lifetime.

For 3 years as civil engineer, I have worked at a few construction sites for nuclear power plants. I played a CM role of construction of nuclear safety-related concrete and steel structures, architectural finishes and painting works. I have participated in reviewing design drawings and technical specifications, and also coducted field inspection and handled non-conformance reports.

I want to go back to architecture and my wife agreed. If I do, I want to go abroad. I want to work at international firms. I know the decision would be risky for both me and family. So, I would like to ask some advice from you.

1. Am I too old to work as entry level architect? Hear in Korea, I am. What about architecture firms in other countries? I would be 37 next year.

2. How to prepare job application? It has been almost 4 years being out of architecture. Do I have a chance? Do firms look for my skill, design expertise or what?

3. What is next? very critical for me...