Archinect
anchor

Sound urban design

knstna

Hello to all members of archinect :)

I am an undergraduate student of architecture.
In this semester I attend an urban design course. The area given is near the sea, has a lot of green spaces and is close enough to a main traffic road
The main idea of my approach to the subjects is to design the whole area taking using the various sounds it creates.. For example the sounds of the sea and generally nature sounds eliminating the sounds of vehicles.
I would appreciate it very much if sb proposed anything about this topic

Thanx in advance
Konstantina

Apr 12, 09 9:33 am
Synergy

I have to ask, do your professors give you any ideas on what your "clients" for this project might be looking for? Architecture can engage all 5 sense, but I think most would agree it tends to start with the visual. Keep in mind that using sound walls, tunnels, tree lines, land berms, etc. to control incoming and outgoing sounds will have a significant impact on your projects site lines and visual qualities. The question is, are the sounds on this site so overwhelming and abnormal that they would suggest this kind of sound first design, or are they more typical, and something that can be dealt with by traditional methods?

Can you simply orient the project towards the sea, and provide only minimal glazing and program on the side with the main traffic road? It seems like a pretty standard design decision and not something that would require excessive mulling over. I don't intend to be discouraging, but to me it sounds a little bit like you are putting the cart before the horse here.

For more in depth information/suggestions, try posting a plan or some pictures to make it more clear what you are working with. You should also describe the programmatic needs of the project(ie. is this all residential) and if there are any specific limits or restrictions being imposed by your professor (ie. height limit, materials, etc. etc.)

Apr 12, 09 11:40 am  ·