Archinect
anchor

Job situation for a German architect in the US

Hey there!

I'm a German master graduated architect with almost 3 years work experience. Currently I'm  working in Switzerland as a project manager of two family houses. It`s my own project which I worked on from scratch to construction finish. I was also involved with the interior design of other family homes.

I'm planning to apply for some architecture jobs in Southern California (my boyfriend lives there). I know in CA there is a lot competition going on for any job.

Does anybody know how it is for a foreign to get into business?

I appreciate any kind of response!

Thanks,

Claudia

Nov 29, 13 2:20 pm

I think your biggest obstacle will be the building codes - including seismic. I suggest you get a few guidebooks for the latest version of the IBC (International Building Code).

Nov 29, 13 3:19 pm  · 
 · 

Thank you for your advice! I have already looked into it...

Nov 29, 13 4:43 pm  · 
 · 

in sourthrn califrnia you have to $ell yoor $oul to the devil to have any success.  vanity fair video has some decent advice (alhough it not architecture specific, moar starchitect).

also, probably child sacrifice is  best bet.  the beast is relentlessly hungry there.

Nov 29, 13 5:34 pm  · 
 · 
gruen
Guys, put down the crack pipes. Her main holdup will first be getting permission to work in the US, then finding a job. Claudia, I have a former co worker who is a very talented German arch on the west coast. He works for a large firm with offices in LA. Email me for an introduction, he will have good advice. Punkmotorcycles (at) gmail dot com
Nov 29, 13 6:40 pm  · 
 · 
legopiece