Archinect
anchor

getting employed before / while finishing a degree

awesomekeith

I am 25 years old I got my bachelors in economics 2010 got a job at bank of america was swiftly let go. So basically I am applying to M. arch this winter to start in fall of 2014. And what I want to know is: what kind of work can I do/ can I look for before starting school next year and during school that is related to architecture?

My skills include: adobe photoshop, illustrator, indesign. sketch up, and rhino. I am very good with numbers and analytics because of my economics background. I have lots of customer service experience, and sales experience.

Because of my advanced age I know that (I feel) I don't have time to waste anymore. There are people my age that are salaried at firms and I want to get there as soon as I can. I have this idea that I shouldn't be intimidated because of my burgeoning skill set, and I feel that there is work out there that I am capable of doing. I just don't know what kind of position or where to look.

Even if it is not directly for architecture firms at first that is ok. Right now I am a valet I park cars at night. I want to pick up a day job but I want it to be conducive to my aspirations. While I am studying M. arch I want to work as well. Does anyone have advice? Also interning is something I am willing to do.  

also I live in Los Angeles do advice specific to LA would also be helpful

and also soon I will have a portfolio of work showcasing some models, rhino / sketch up drawings, adobe work, and some graphic design aesthetics .. 

Nov 10, 13 4:07 pm
backbay