Archinect
anchor

Who Doesn't Love a Little Architect Bashing in the Morning?

The article isn't bad (I apologize if this is a re-post); however, the comments are a bit distressing…we need better PR managers.

5 Reasons Architects are worth the money when redoing your home (MSN Real Estate)

Feb 27, 09 10:40 am
Philarch

Wow, there are some interesting commentary there. I've never heard of a "home designer"

Feb 27, 09 10:48 am  · 
 · 
evilplatypus

Thats so depressing. But its true for a lot of the cases out there nowdays. When I worked in construction we tore up the architects to the point they wouldnt even come near us anymore and we then owned their clients for life, they returned to us first - but we were really good contractors. Now Im on the architect side and we beat up minority contractors because we can. Its sick and terrible that firms go out of their way to find weak contractors. I think they are afraid of being showed up The best solution is for the next generation to put aside this us / them BS and just shelve the egos and work together. It will produce the best results. Nobody knows everything.

Feb 27, 09 11:26 am  · 
 · 
knock

wow.... wow. there are a lot of misconceptions on here.

Feb 27, 09 11:30 am  · 
 · 
drums please, Fab?

here or there?

Feb 27, 09 11:59 am  · 
 · 
knock

well, on the posting. so there.

Feb 27, 09 11:59 am  · 
 · 
marmkid

haha
i only got through the 1st page of comments, and see there are 103 or something more

i would say thats a typical reaction and response though

i love how all of a sudden architect's fees are "too high"

its like any kind of service though
you have good and bad ones
there are good and bad contractors as well

the fee being too high though is the same with anything
if you are a firm who has work, and someone comes and wants to hire you for a small job you dont really feel is financially viable to spend time on, of course you will offer to still do it, but at a price that will make it worth your time