Archinect
anchor

Is there a role for urban planners in architecture firms?

rockandhill

To preface this question, I'll give you the run down.

I graduated in December of 2007. Judging by the dropping number of jobs in the planning profession coupled with the many opportunities that went to waste... I assumed that planning was once again on the back burner and I probably wouldn't get employed. Especially in Florida, I saw what patterns were being repeatedly and I knew from my planning education that this was not how you ran a successful state [physically].

The university I went to had bad relations with the surrounding community and never really told us about any of the professional associations we could participate in (American Planning Association, Urban Land Institute, American Institute of Architects). So, for the most part, there was a lack of employers getting involved with the college, lack of internships and any of the opportunities or companies, recommended by the college, were the anti-thesis of the profession itself.

People told me to suck it up but, in perspective, it would like being an architect taking a job for a company that manufactures aluminum sheds. Ironically, all the suburban-building real estate developers are either bankrupt or defunct. And the small percentage of ones still around, are peddling suburban lead homes in pod-and-collector styled neighborhoods.

I applied around early on and get on some eligibility lists for some good places as an urban designer and or urban planner but shrinking budgets and fall real estate prices have eliminated those growing jobs.

Recently, I have become interested in building my [planning] portfolio and have had to actualize a lot of my planning solutions into working models, renderings et cetera. I have been studying architecture, from a planning perspective, heavily for the last two months.