Archinect
anchor

Salaries for Architects in US Cities

I am moving back to the US from London and am wondering the going salary for an Intermediate Architect , MArch, 3 years experience. I've been out of the game in the US for a while and just want to see what I can hope to expect.

Also, since I am a qualified Environmental Analyst/researcher I am curious to see how this pays compared to an intermediate architect.

Reponses from NYC, Philly and San Fran would be particulalry useful, but anything would be interesting.

May 31, 11 8:38 am

I realize this is maybe a very personal question.. but maybe a salary range would be less invasive?

also hearing from people who do the hiring would be great.

May 31, 11 10:22 am  · 
 · 
sectionalhealing

hard question (because it depends on a lot of specific factors), but it would be reasonable to assume a $45-55k range in NYC/SF/LA/DC, and $40-50k in philly/boston/chicago.

May 31, 11 1:59 pm  · 
 · 

May 2010 Metropolitan and Nonmetropolitan Area Occupational Employment and Wage Estimates

New York-Northern New Jersey-Long Island: $86,610

Philadelphia: $80,320 

San Francisco: $87,060

National average: $78,530

Multiplication factor:

New York-Northern New Jersey-Long Island: 1.102

Philadelphia: 1.022

San Francisco: 1.108

A somewhat experienced architect, level 8, makes a national average annual wage of $51,771 (National Compensation Survey). Using the multiplication factors above, your salary expectations should be the following.

New York-Northern New Jersey-Long Island: $57,051

Philadelphia: $52,909

San Francisco: $57,362

May 31, 11 2:19 pm  · 
 · 
winkandi

You can always get the compensation report from AIA, that's what firms use to establish salaries. It's devided up per city, size of firm, level of experience. Very handy to have.

May 31, 11 4:30 pm  · 
 · 
bLAyer

James

Could you give me a link to where you found that $51,771 figure?

thanks

May 31, 11 4:55 pm  · 
 · 

Go here.