Archinect
anchor

corten steel / glass

duke19_98

I'm currently designing a pedestrian bridge roof canopy that is made up of sheets of glass and folded corten steel. There will be lots of odd angled shards (think lebbeus) making up the canopy. I've been looking for some good details to get me started, but am having a hard time finding any. Any suggestions? I'm a student and am relatively new to searching the net for example .dwg's so please excuse my ignorance. Thanks.

steel to glass detail:

Sep 27, 04 9:20 pm
Mason White

brian ... GET away from the INTERNET!!!
RUN to your university LIBRARY right NOW!!!

look at any issue of Detail magazine ... and drool.
look at the Steel Construction Manual. drool.
look at the Glass Construciton Manual. drool.
or any El Croquis for an architect that actually builds (i.e. Gigon & Guyer, who happen to have a giant cor-ten project in Switzy) again, drool.

all your rival cooleagues will marvel at your adept knowledge of real architecture.

Sep 27, 04 9:32 pm  · 
 · 
instrumentOFaction

Brian... Mason is right....typical steel and glass detailing will serve you well.
Old copies of these manuals are sought after for a reason...they're invaluable, even for students. the good details have been used for decades...and they work.

I understand the visual allure of cor-ten, but beware its drawbacks. Cor-ten's natural 'oxidation' process can and will 'seal' itself after about a year depending on exposure, with a surface that remains relatively stable...BUT, it stains other materials and pedestrians. concrete soaks it up...so does rough stone...ugly stains...polished stone seems to fair better. If you are bridging a body of water, how are you going to justify its contamination from run-off?