Archinect
anchor

Trying to get myself out there..

I graduated over three years ago. The details are in my profile. I've been actively looking for work for over two years. I did (from what I thought) very well in college and have a strong design portfolio. From what I'm noticing is my skills aren't at all what this new architectural world is looking for. I'm not exactly efficient in the 1400 computer programs I got barely a half semester of teaching besides CAD; so I stuck to what I was strong at.
At this point ($80,000 in school loan debt), a masters in architectural design or any good education is hardly an option. Also, the unemployment rates and severly low hiring for entry level has made me seriously want to readjust my focus.
My passion is design, bringing ideas to 2D to 3D. I would love to learn to work with various materials including salvage and create functional arts : architecture design too! ;
a probably much too broad notion. At this point, I'm getting quite fearful of what to do next. But I'm willing to try anything and move anywhere. (Detroit isn't doing so well as you all know, can't just move without a job waiting of course). Advice (OR A JOB :) is greatly appreciated!

Aug 6, 13 11:33 pm
JonathanLivingston

Kelly, 

Hang in there!

Design is not a job but a way of life. Keep designing every aspect of your life. Take stock of the small things, and design every task, action, movement, and every little thing you create. Find happiness in each small well designed fragment of your day.  

That's where you start. Let your passion for design invade everything. Keep on the hunt, and that passion will pay off. There is no shame in any job, and every job will have some aspect with which you can design. Document everything and curate that documentation into a website or long format portfolio.